Author Topic: Travel FX... No rates for Lira  (Read 7233 times)

Offline jacqtay

Travel FX... No rates for Lira
« on: May 07, 2014, 12:48:48 PM »
As it says... they have removed rates for the lira from the website, I tend to check every day or two just to make sure the rate hasn't dropped drastically ( every penny/ lira counts) and today it seems they have removed the lira altogether , no sign of it on the main webpage or the best price promise page http://affiliate.travelfx.co.uk/BestPricePromise/29/index.php , seems rather odd or do they know something I/we don't?.
I tried calling them twice but they just hang up after a few rings. I cant think why they would stop selling Lira  ??? and I have been using them for the past 3 years with usually the best rates to be had in the uk  :-\

Offline jacqtay

Re: Travel FX... No rates for Lira
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2014, 13:36:41 PM »
* regarding Travel FX

On their facebook page - we are struggling to source Turkish Lira after the Turkish Central Banks recent actions that are limiting supply.

Oh well then  :(

Offline loz

• Prolific Member
  • Black Bin BAG
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2014, 13:40:55 PM »
They may have caught a cold when the lira was high, losing 1000's,  maybe this stability of the currency has made them more cautious.

Offline echogirl1

• Newly Registered
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2014, 14:24:40 PM »
Plenty of lira in Cambridge today, Tesco, M&S,  no problems, not a wonderful rate.  We have plenty to go on with, aiming to get more when we arrive in calis at the end of the month.

Offline Colwyn

• Prolific Member
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2014, 14:34:42 PM »
The main Travel FX site is quoting "today's price" as 3.3 to the £ which is a clip of 7.5% off current market rates and which strikes me as a rather hefty charge for FX.

http://www.travelfx.co.uk/viewrates.php?currency=Turkish+Lira

Offline JohnF

• Administrator
  • Prolific Member
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2014, 15:12:35 PM »