Author Topic: Hello! I'm a newbie!  (Read 5786 times)

Offline Jillyjinx

• Newly Registered
Hello! I'm a newbie!
« on: April 25, 2016, 18:15:39 PM »
Hello to you all from Devon
So....complete newbie (please be gentle with me!). My name is Jill and my nickname used to be Jillyjinx (mainly because I was always in trouble!). I am a "young" Nana and my daughters are all grownup now (youngest is in my pic with me). I'm heading to Calis on June 27th ....on my own!! Eeeekk!
I booked an apartment and then found your amazing forum which has made me feel so much better about holidaying solo.
I'm still slightly scared (translate to - freaking out what the hell was I thinking!?).
Any tips, encouragement, warnings, dos and donts will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
I have questions but I've read the rules! I'll go find the right place for them promise.
Shoutout to Highlander....the restaurant guide is a god send thank you!
Hope you're all having a good week and thanks for reading my gabble.

Offline Bluwise

Re: Hello! I'm a newbie!
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2016, 19:03:42 PM »
Hi Jill and welcome - ask away!
If I was holidaying alone, then Calis would be my choice.  Very friendly, no riff-raff  ;D and plenty of places to choose from for dinner/drinks.  The main street and Prom are well lit so you should be safe but usual rules apply, don't walk home alone down the side streets.  Taxis are plentiful at the rank and not expensive.  Have a fabulous time!

Offline Liz 101

• Prolific Member
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2016, 19:11:44 PM »
I holidayed alone in the area many times, without any problems. Found it so friendly & comfotable that I made the move here 5ish years ago. As Bluwise has said the usual rules apply. Have fun

Offline littlereddevil

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2016, 19:24:10 PM »
I have often stayed in Fethiye on my own, no problems

Offline Jillyjinx

• Newly Registered
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2016, 19:58:36 PM »