Author Topic: Electric Costs  (Read 1672 times)

Offline stoop

• Cerial Killer
  • Global Moderator
  • Prolific Member
Electric Costs
« on: July 10, 2008, 09:55:40 AM »
Hi,

Does anyone know what the price per unit is at the moment? We have just received a £170 electric bill for around 7 weeks use since our last bill. Last year we paid £120 for 8 weeks use which worked out at 20 kurus per unit. So in simple terms the cost has gone up from around £15 per week to £24 per week - a 60% increase.

Is it really 32 kurus per unit for domestic use now?

To add - we have two air con units (one in each bedroom). A fridge, a fan, and a tv which is hardly ever used. Other than that we also have an electric oven which is also little used.

Cheers

Stoop

« Last Edit: July 10, 2008, 12:02:47 PM by stoop »

Offline lmaddy

Electric Costs
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 12:14:01 PM »
Gosh I am an expert in this subject:-
Not totally sure where your figures fit in with mine, but we received our complex bill & got a bit of a shock.

If you are on the 1 tariff domestic rate the amount is approx. 0.1430
Commercial rate is 0.145982 which is 20% more then the domestic.
If you are on the 3 tier rates the rates are:-

7am-5pm 0.112393
5pm-10pm 0.1922
10pm-7am 0.055

If you want to change over I have a copy of the forms you need to take in to Teddas & an explaination of what to write.

We have just changed our complex over to the 3 tier and will run the pumps, water the site during the cheaper tariff period.
Lorraine
« Last Edit: July 10, 2008, 12:24:10 PM by lmaddy »

Offline stoop

• Cerial Killer
  • Global Moderator
  • Prolific Member
Electric Costs
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2008, 12:39:02 PM »
That seems much cheaper than we paid - even last year. I have bills from 2006 and 2007 showing the unit costs as 20 kurus per unit. This year it must be higher. Maybe it's the complex rate?