Author Topic: Tablet into Turkey  (Read 3128 times)

Offline Evie

Tablet into Turkey
« on: May 08, 2014, 09:59:36 AM »
I am thinking of buying a Tablet 3G  in Uk and fetching it over to Turkey - can anyone who has done this tell me the procedures please - do I have to register it as you do a mobile.  Will I need to have contract with Turkcell to get G or will my UK package be usable.

Offline rik

Re: Tablet into Turkey
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2014, 01:01:45 AM »
I am thinking of buying a Tablet 3G  in Uk and fetching it over to Turkey - can anyone who has done this tell me the procedures please - do I have to register it as you do a mobile.  Will I need to have contract with Turkcell to get G or will my UK package be usable.
Hi Evie
I see many people have read your post. It's not that straightforward to answer. While I am no expert, I would question the benefits of using a 3G tablet here.
Firstly, unless you have a very good deal from a UK provider, I would think it ultra expensive, just for the benefit of non-wifi internet. Also, more than likely very expensive phone calls. That leaves having to use a Turkish provider, which in turn would mean, registering the tablet and having a Turkish number, etc. More expense. Following on, you may also have to register it in a Turkish friends name to get a package that uses 3G (not sure about that one)
Bottom line is, maybe best to just use a normal phone. Then buy a non-3G tablet here, which you will find is probably competitively priced. Don't forget, a tablet can be set for any language, and is totally universal, apart from the manual. Even that can be downloaded in English from the manufacturers site. All I would say, is get a good one. That doesn't necessarily mean Ipad, The Google Nexus, for instance is perfect. I think what I've explained is about right, but I stand to be corrected if anyone has better info.

Offline Sokak91

• Newly Registered
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2014, 09:14:59 AM »