Author Topic: Hi new to calis beach forum  (Read 3186 times)

Offline The Gibbos

• Newly Registered
Hi new to calis beach forum
« on: August 26, 2014, 20:45:01 PM »
Hi
My name is Tracey, I'm new to the forum so just wanted to introduce myself.  I've been coming to calis for over six years now and love it as clearly we all do and wanted to some advice on living here please I.e. Should we rent to start with or buy ? Any suggestions on who we should bank with, should we spread our money etc anything anyone can help with would be appreciated.
Thank you   :)

Offline LeeGlo

Re: Hi new to calis beach forum
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2014, 08:51:39 AM »
Hi Tracey and welcome to the forum, you have come to the right place for advice. Most people will tell you to rent first, A: to see if you really like your chosen area, and B: to give yourselves more time to get to know your way around before committing to anything as major as property purchase.

Banks, well yes spread your money around the Government guarantee here only cover up to 100K Lira per person per bank account. Which banks, people have their preferences, we've banked with TEB for around 6 years and had no complaints, we also have accounts with Garanti and ING.

Have a look via the search facility on here and you will find lots of advice. Good luck with your planned move.

Offline usedbustickets

• Institute for the hard of understanding
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2014, 09:36:32 AM »
Hi Tracey and fellow Gibbos.  Even though we own a place here and live here for most of the year, I always recommedn to try things out on a rental basis first of all, and not only avoid expensive pitfalls, but also find out what you really want in terms of property, location and a myriad of other things that you do not think of before buying.  Banks I would recommend HSBC (particularly if you can get a Premier Account) and TEB.  Having said that none of the banks are great, it's just not getting the worst .... if you see what I mean.