Author Topic: Subsidance a Big Problem In Calis...?  (Read 4648 times)

Offline MarkPatterson

Subsidance a Big Problem In Calis...?
« on: March 18, 2010, 02:29:01 AM »
Hi folks,

I just posted on the inroduction forum. I'm a newbie.

Me and the wife have seen an apartment in Calis for which they're asking £27,000. It had been reduced from £35,000. According to the estate agent they reduced it as property is slow and there are few buyers out there. So sounds a bargain except the complex did have subsidence in the last 4 years so I'm a bit concerned it could happen again. Anyone know much anout subsidance problems in Calis? I have had varying reports but the main concencus seems to be that Calis is prone to it as its built on swampland. Is this correct?

We particurly wanted the Calis area as its flat and easy to walk around, my wife has mobility problems. So we can't look at Ovacik etc due to all the hills.

Thanks in advance for any info you can give us.

Thanks guys

Mark

Offline philrose

« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 06:22:08 AM »
Whereabouts in Calis is the apartment?

Offline Scunner

• Chairman of the Bored
  • Administrator
  • Prolific Member
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2010, 08:29:18 AM »
Calis or the Calis area?

If you confirm where the apartment is that will help. It is not a "big problem" in Calis at all. That said, if there was such a problem with an apartment, correcting it (or more to the point getting everyone in the block to cough up their share of the cost) would probably be the mother of all nightmares. For that reason I'd advise great caution.

Of course there is a decent chance that it is fine, and someone needs to get it sold - I understand the market is slow for some  8)

Offline MarkPatterson

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2010, 15:28:12 PM »
Thanks for the replies folks.