Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 4678 times)

Offline Susiepink

« on: June 11, 2013, 21:05:21 PM »
Hi,
I'm really new to this type of thing, and not really sure how it works, however here goes.
I'm moving to Uzumlu in October, I'm a single mature woman, and its all a bit daunting, I'm hoping to make new friends and not look back ! I've been to turkey loads of times on holiday, and often dreamt about retiring there, but this year have plucked up courage to do it. I've given notice at work, and found a place to stay for my first 6 months, and will take it from there. I would like to start chatting to people before I make the move, and I don't think it will feel quite so scary, knowing there are others like me.
Any hints and tips would be more than welcome, I've already discovered that the transfer buses don't run to Uzumlu so the trip from the airport is going to be a bit of a trek, (either that or very expensive by taxi)
Hope to hear from somebody,     Anybody.   ??? Soon ???

Offline marina

Re: Newbie
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2013, 21:13:42 PM »
Hi Susiepink.  Welcome to the forum and well done on taking the brave step to retire out here.

Not something we've done ourselves but lots of people on here who have made the move, so any questions you want answering just ask, and someone will have an answer.

Good luck with the move   :)

Offline SuzzPuss

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2013, 22:52:45 PM »
Good for you for taking the plunge!  I don't know any answers about transfers I'm afraid but many do. I'm sure you're going to be very happy.   :D

Offline Mary Howarth

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2013, 05:33:57 AM »
Hi Susie

I did the very same thing over 6 years ago and flew out to Uzumlu to live for the first three months to find my way around when you get out here in October make contact with me and I will help you all I can.

I am very happy here and have some wonderful friends its very brave of you but don't worry you will be fine.

See you in October xx

Offline Rosy