Author Topic: Moving to Calis  (Read 5978 times)

Offline Leerob

• Newly Registered
Moving to Calis
« on: October 21, 2013, 21:41:17 PM »
Hi All,
My brother and I are considering buying a property in Calis. We have a 30% deposit and we are looking at properties to the value of £150,000. What is the rental potential of properties in Calis during the summer months. I have spoken to a Turkish acquaintance in Hisaronu who said that the foundations are not good on Calis and it is susceptible to flooding, is this correct as believe he just to to put us off this area as he sells villas on Hisaronu. Once the walkway is complete next year I believe property in Calis will be a good investment. Eventually I would like to move over permanent and rent my property in the uk, just in case

Offline Highlander

• Lord of the Rings
  • Prolific Member
Re: Moving to Calis
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2013, 21:54:00 PM »
I am by no means an expert but presumably the rental potential is dependant on a number of factors including location, number of bedrooms, pool or no pool etc., etc.

Sites such as joy.lettings.com, holiday.lettings.com and Calis Villas on here will give a fair cross section I would have though.

We have rented at Summer Apartments at the far end of the prom. Lovely apartment beautiful grounds, lovely pool - £ 260 per week in September.

Offline Scunner

• Chairman of the Bored
  • Administrator
  • Prolific Member
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2013, 23:01:11 PM »
Also having 70% on finance could well give an uncomfortable feeling if Turkey has a bad year with low rental take up, which can (and does) happen with earthquakes, wars in adjacent countries, occasional bombs and several other factors that should have no effect on sleepy little Fethiye but I assure you they do in terms of bookings.

If you can afford whatever 100k costs to borrow per year even if you got zero bookings at all then no problem.