Author Topic: The Job Scene  (Read 5908 times)

Offline Kaytee

The Job Scene
« on: March 15, 2005, 13:11:43 PM »
Hello there. This is my 1st post here. I am Steve B's partner in crime (known as "American chick" in his last post). We're both hoping to relocate to Turkey in the near future. I will, of course, have to bite the bullet and get my UK Citizenship sorted for visa purposes. My question is this: I realise that there are many jobs come peak season but are there many available year round? Also, what is the unemployment rate like and is it feasible that I will be able to find a decent job once we move?
I currently work in sales for a forwarding company (international transportation) and have been in this trade for over 5 years now. I am open to different types of work (ie. the holiday business, property sales, maybe teaching english???, etc). I'd love to hear some advice and stories about how the rest of you got on with various careers in the area.
I have done a search on the topic and found bits and pieces regarding visas and the like but was hoping for a bit more story telling.
Thanks and I look forward to reading your responses!

Offline KKOB

• Prolific Member
  • I'm hearing the word.... Nonce !
The Job Scene
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2005, 14:58:56 PM »
You really do need to do some more research!

The situation regarding jobs out here is quite simple.

To get a job you need a Work Permit! To get a Work Permit you need a job!

If you're caught working without a permit you've got a good chance of a couple of nights as a guest of the Polis / Jandarma at their 7 Star establishment, a free ride to Dalaman and one-way ticket home!
« Last Edit: March 15, 2005, 15:01:42 PM by KKOB »

Offline Kaytee

The Job Scene
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2005, 16:59:33 PM »
Yes, I have got A LOT of research to do.

Really? I would need a work permit even as a UK Citizen?