Author Topic: putting the plan together  (Read 5783 times)

Offline mercury

• Turkey
  • Prolific Member
putting the plan together
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2010, 22:14:31 PM »
All I can say is go for it.!!!You will get all the advice you need from people on the forum. Good luck.

Offline heatherhanum

« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2010, 23:00:34 PM »
Hi there I have been dreaming of moving to Turkey for a few years now. 3 years ago we put our house on the market and almost sold it but then the market took a dive and this never happened.We decided to take the house off the market and wait till things picked up. Still waiting. I work for the council and recently our council is offering voluntary redundancy. I looked at my redundancy forcast payment after 29 years as a council employee and am shocked to find my payment would be 24,000. What a cheek. I thought I may be able to get early retirement as well but because the early retirement age went from 50 to 55 in April this year I cant have early retirement. I am 53. Believe me I am constantly thinking of how I could go to Turkey, even if it were for 3 months at a time like Ian. I would love this opportunity. It just isnt meant to be for now but when I get the chance im off to Turkey. Good luck to anyone is is now at the stage where they can sell up and go. Ah well I believe in fate. I still have dreams of the great escape. like those posts above i really can understand those who feel like me about planning the great escape. x
« Last Edit: October 27, 2010, 23:14:25 PM by heatherhanum »

Offline kayakebab

• Too Normal For Calis?
  • Prolific Member
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2010, 09:04:07 AM »
Thanks so much for all the words of support,much needed at the moment!
Put my house on the market 4 days ago and have had 2 offers, one for the full price and one 5K under - but she is renting and mortgage ready- and could be as quick as 6 weeks
Yikes!
After 16 years dreaming the reality now is surprisingly scary.