Author Topic: Which Camera  (Read 1888 times)

Offline bewva

• Prolific Member
Which Camera
« on: September 01, 2011, 22:39:19 PM »
Having just looked at my holiday photos taken with my Sony W50 cyber shot I am fed up with all of the photos having red eye. I can never seem to take any decent photos like are shown on the forum. Time for a new camera me thinks. I want a smallish compact that doesn't burn through batteries every 5 mins, I don't need to get a second mortgage to buy and obviously takes good photos. Any recommendations appreciated. Or maybe I am just a crap photographer and I should just save my money?

Offline scouser2

Which Camera
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2011, 22:44:39 PM »
Install photoshop on your computer. I think it is free from Microsoft. Go to Microsoft download centre. Works on my photos whether they are from camera or mobile phone.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 22:46:00 PM by scouser2 »

Offline Scunner

• Chairman of the Bored
  • Administrator
  • Prolific Member
Which Camera
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2011, 22:55:12 PM »
Is there not a flash setting for red eye Paul? (For preventing it, not to get it :D ) - if the flash goes off more than just once quickly then that is it already - if when using that you still have the problem then your family and friends must all have flash resistant eyes  ;)

Offline nichola

• Global Moderator
  • Prolific Member
Which Camera
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2011, 23:10:00 PM »
Have a look at Which Best Buys Digital Cameras - rather long link below.

I'd recommend narrowing the search and look at the Canon Powershot,  Panasonic Lumix or Nikon Coolpix ranges.

Think about how important the quality of the photo is to you - do you want to produce high resolution images every time?

Do you want to be able to zoom over a longer distance?

Optical zooms are better (imo) than digital zooms because the optical zoom does not reduce the quality of the image but digital zoom does.