Author Topic: Pool Pump Burn Out  (Read 4177 times)

Offline MelekMatt

Pool Pump Burn Out
« on: August 01, 2010, 17:31:11 PM »
Hi there, I was wondering if anyone can offer some advice on the continual problem we have with our pool pump?

We have owned a villa in Ovacik for just over four years which was a new build Nicholas property. Every year since we have had the property, the pool pump has burnt out and had to be repaired, which is not only expensive but annoying for guests when we rent the villa.

The wiring all over the villa is'nt great, and the electrical cabinet under the pool looks far from professional. I am by no means an electrician, but I think the burnouts may be due to the voltage drops we suffer from time to time particularly during the busy season.

Does anyone else suffer from the same problem, or do you have any advice on how we can avoid this going forward?

Many thanks in advance,

Matt.

Offline tonysue

Pool Pump Burn Out
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2010, 18:38:08 PM »
I would stop thinking about what it could be and get an electrician to check it out quick. please dont take chances with pools and electricity- a lethal combination. A lot of people use Bayram the electrician who works at the state hospital in Calis, he is very good, fast, clean and very resonable prices. I am sure somebody has his number, unfortunately mine is in Turkey.

Offline busybee

Pool Pump Burn Out
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2010, 18:53:46 PM »
Bayrams number is 0535 2392 334

Offline Ovacikpeedoff

Pool Pump Burn Out
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2010, 23:12:11 PM »
We had this happen to us once and it was caused by a surge of electric. Not only did the power surge damage the pump,it also wrecked a number of electrical items in the house causing 2k worth of damagw.  Without stating the obvious you need to get an electrician in. The way some pools have been built in Turkey the pump room is a likely place to finish up getting electrocuted.

Offline puma

• Prolific Member