Author Topic: Is your luggage insured?  (Read 10796 times)

Offline Jacqui Harvey

• Prolific Member
  • Antiques are Green
Is your luggage insured?
« on: July 09, 2016, 14:13:19 PM »
Reading today on the net that someone had their bag taken from an overhead locker on an Easyjet flight from Turkey,  that landed in the U.K.  When the aircrew were informed, they made the person wait until everyone had left the plane.
The bag was not recovered.  However, the Travel Insurance was with Tesco and they told the person that they (Tesco) do not insurance hand luggage only hold luggage.

Offline JohnF

• Administrator
  • Prolific Member
Re: Is your luggage insured?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2016, 14:32:47 PM »
Nonsense.  Tesco Bank travel insurance makes no differentiation between hold and hand luggage, except in the case of valuables which are not covered if checked in with hold luggage.

JF

Offline marina

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2016, 14:41:00 PM »
I've no experience of using Tesco insurance but have never heard of anything like that before with any other insurers we have used.  You are more likely to have valuables etc in hand luggage so you can keep them nearby rather than going in the hold.  In fact, I think some insurers will actually tell you to do this. 

Offline Jacqui Harvey

• Prolific Member
  • Antiques are Green
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2016, 15:29:56 PM »
Nonsense.  Tesco Bank travel insurance makes no differentiation between hold and hand luggage, except in the case of valuables which are not covered if checked in with hold luggage.

JF

O.K.  J.F.  This is the posting on T.A.  Best you get in touch and tell them that this is nonsense, because they don't seem to realise that.....

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g298033-i793-k9672341-Check_your_insurance_cover_for_hand_luggage-Marmaris_Mugla_Province_Turkish_Aegean_Coast.html

Offline JohnF

• Administrator
  • Prolific Member
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2016, 15:47:47 PM »