Author Topic: Personal safety in Fethiye (as a tourist)  (Read 2006 times)

Offline JohnNerush

Personal safety in Fethiye (as a tourist)
« on: September 19, 2011, 13:05:15 PM »
I have a small concern that I am hoping can either be dismissed or confirmed.

I am an avid photographer and I am really looking forward to the multitude of photographic opportunity's in and around Fethiye when I visit next week however I am slightly concerned about the risk of having my camera snatched. It is quite large and not so discreet (Nikon D1 DSLR) nor is it easy to conceal.

I appreciate that this is a risk anywhere however I was curios as to whether anyone knows of this happening often? Is Fethiye a fairly safe place for tourists?

Thanks in advance.

Offline dycedon

« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2011, 13:14:42 PM »
John
We have been going back and forth for the last six years and have never really seen any crime at all, as for snatching i doubt it very much, i would say you will feel safer in Fethiye than probably your home town, enjoy taking your photos as there are ample opportunities for some great shots.

Offline JohnNerush

« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2011, 13:20:07 PM »
Thank you Dycedon. I will post all my photos on the forum for anyone who would like them once we get home or if the internet connection is ok at the hotel then probably the day I take them  :)

Offline littlereddevil

« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2011, 13:55:47 PM »
I have been going to Fethiye for over 20 years and have never heard of a snatching there

Offline Scunner

• Chairman of the Bored
  • Administrator
  • Prolific Member
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2011, 14:06:01 PM »
There were reports a couple of years back of people on mopeds attempting to snatch handbags as they passed walking ladies although I have also never actually seen anything of the sort. Just be vigilant and sensible when you are walking about, especially late - but it really is a safe place to be so stay relaxed  8)

Offline jacx