Author Topic: my vist this time to calis *moan.  (Read 21620 times)

Offline siemli

my vist this time to calis *moan.
« on: April 27, 2011, 17:20:50 PM »
[size=1]As some of you know we have a house in calis and return there probably 3-4 times  a year
However on my visit this time I noticed the severe lack of families visiting calis?

I have noticed a over take in British people living in calis (of the retired generation) and wondered if the negativity given of by some of them has reflected on the diversity of people coming back?
I have been coming to calis for probably 7 years, my husband 14 and I have never seen the behaviour demonstrated this time by ex pats..
My overall view on what I saw this time was rudeness and cockiness..
The ex pats I saw ordered drinks in English despite bragging to the waiter ‘'I live ere luv have done for years. (How hard is it to say iki bira lutfen'?- especially if you have lived in the community for years?)
everywhere I turned I heard '' no thanks not today I live here'' as people strolled past restaurants..
We have made a huge effort to learn bits of the language so why if you are privileged enough to live in such a beautiful country, you don't even bother to order a drink or say hello in their language-it really is ignorant.

We went to the opening night of the Indian restaurant (the name slips past me -Bombay ?)--I was standing in the line for the buffet in a summer dress (it was still 40+) when the lady in front of me said to her friend ‘'look at the state of that''(pointing to a lady wearing a vest top and cotton trousers) ‘'what does she look like what a state in this weather-its freezing and she walks around like that'-turns to me -‘'are you not cold wearing that?-I live ere and I am bloody freezing I don't know how you tourists do it''-to which I replied ‘that we are not acclimatised as you to the lovely weather' she then turned and continued to single out other  tourists wearing summer clothes.